In this page we will show the unique search features for ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global . Go to the Platform LibGuide for a complete guide to ProQuest's search and display features.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses offers five Look ups or browsable indexes, so you can easily find spelling or format variations of, for example, an author's name or a subject name. You can find the Look up links in the advanced search page and they are available for the following searchable fields: Author, Advisor, Subject name, Index term and School name. For a description of these fields, please see the Searchable fields table to the right.
Note: Look ups are also available from the Command Line search (through the Look up terms link).
To use and locate a Look up or browsable index, select the field from the Advanced Search pull-down menu. If a Look up is available, under the search row you will see a link to the Look up. Other Look ups and browsable indexes will be listed in the Limit To section of the Advanced Search page.
Each Look-up provides a search and browse function and the ability to add multiple terms separated by Boolean Operators similar to the thesaurus.
Some of the Look up links will be listed in the lower section of the advanced search page.
In Advanced Search, you can find 2 boxes with advanced limiters: Manuscript types provides a controlled list highly specific to this database, and Language features allows to select dissertation/thesis with several types of languages.
In your results page, you might see links to supplemental files, order a copy and references, if available.
Supplemental files are included if part of the documentation that had been submitted with the dissertations/theses text to enhance the scholarly record. You can download the supplemental files as required:
You can use the order a copy tab to purchase any dissertation/thesis.
You can dive deeper into the relevant literature by reviewing references within each dissertation on your topic. Examining the resources that other authors rely upon may reveal a very useful resource that hadn’t turned up in your own search.
If one of the References is available to your library through another ProQuest database, you will be able to click on the reference to view the full record.
On results page, you can also get an unique option to filter the documents based on university/institution and university/institution location.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global offers browsing (in addition to searching) as a way of finding content. Use this page to easily locate dissertations/theses based on subject and location.