Skip to Main Content

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global

Collection Information

With more than 5 million entries, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is the most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses in the world.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global allows:

  • Graduate students to consult the database to make sure their proposed thesis or dissertation topics have not already been written about
  • Students, faculty, and other researchers to search for titles related to their scholarly interests
  • Instant access to high-quality, multidisciplinary research materials
  • Building your ebooks collection – with each dissertation including an ISBN, ProQuest is the world’s largest publisher of ISBNs
  • Cross-searching with journal and other content types on the ProQuest platform

The database includes bibliographic citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861 as well as European dissertations back from the 17th century, to those accepted as recently as last semester.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is the official dissertations repository for the Library of Congress, more than 4,200 contributing Institutions and 200,000 works added annually.

The full text PDF of more than 2.7 million of these titles are available, including hundreds of thousands of titles published before 1997. 

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is updated weekly and features 24 indexed and searchable fields, including full text searchability for the entire text of full-text dissertations.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global includes access to international scholarly works, from the UK to Continental Europe to India and China.

Our partnerships with universities have been key to expanding the reach and impact of graduate works. By working together, the visibility of both the institution and its PhD dissertation production are enhanced in the worldwide research community.

ProQuest includes works from nearly 100 countries and more than 50 languages.

In 2017, ProQuest joined forces with China Academic Library and Information System (CALIS) to provide first-ever global access to abstracts of the graduate output of 80 Chinese Universities.